Blue-White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

May 27, 2009

Good-Bye Loretto High School! On May 21, 2009 my high school had it’s very last graduation ceremony. Long story short, I went to a private High School that’s now closing. My best friend’s Taline’s little sister Tamar was in the graduating class, so I went to the graduation. I brought her some cookies & I made them in the school’s colors: Blue + White. They came out kind of greenish-blue, but were more blue when you bit into the center. They came out super nom! Go Lions :)!! Cookie recipe behind the link…

Blue-White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies
Recipe adapted from The Crepes of Wrath. Mmm! One of my favorite websites.

Basically the only differences are that I made my cookies big and poofy, added blue food coloring, and did not melt the butter.

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup butter, softened
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups (chopped, if needed) macadamia nuts
2 cups white chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

1. Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl & set aside.
2. Beat butter & sugars together until light & fluffy.
3. Add egg, yolk, & then vanilla beating well after each addition.
4. Gradually add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture until just moistened. If adding food coloring, do so here until desired richness of color!
5. Stir in the macadamia nuts and white chocolate chips by hand.
6. Roll into balls or drop by spoonfuls onto a greased and/or lined baking sheet. I forgot to grease mine, oops! I used aluminum & it came out fine. (I always forget something when I bake.)
7. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until the edges look golden brown. Cool for a few minutes on the cookie sheet & then transfer to a cooling rack or plate. They usually don’t look “done”. I found that the trick with cookies is to pull them out a little early so they can continue cooking a tiny bit on the hot cookie sheet while they ‘cool’. No burnt cookies club!!!

Makes about 15-20 cookies.

Leave a Reply

